anti-climax

noun

 

a disappointing end to an exciting or impressive series of events.
 
Me and my Mother are currently suffering a normal life induced anti-climax. We went to visit the Harry Potter studio tour two days ago and I had to go to work the day after and we are both tired and depressed from having to go back to the mundane after such a magical day. I discovered though, that I did not want to return to feast my eyes upon years and years of creations and hard work. I want to be in it. I want to do it. I want to contribute to the magic in someone’s life that might make them feel the same escapism that we felt that day.
 
So, the night after the first day back from the Studio’s I looked for work in films, or as a writer or an illustrator and I found an add for a children’s author and/or illustrator. I did something that I’ve never done before… before thinking, or telling anyone, I hastily wrote a cover letter about how doing this is my life’s dream and about the books I’ve already written. I updated my C.V. and sent it off and am now awaiting a reply.
 
I do not expect to get one, but I think I’ll keep looking for jobs like this and keep practicing so that one day, I might help someone who’s alone like I was, who’s lost like I was, who’s in the dark like I was, someone who has the candle, but just needs the fire.
 
 
Leave a Reply

