What ARE you?

“Some people think that Religion is just a belief. Some people think that the world was an accident. Some people think that God is a character. But I don’t think it’s an accident that countless grumpy teenagers get up early on a Sunday and spend there lives at Church instead of with friends or on the internet. I don’t think it’s an accident either, that countless of those grumpy teenagers then give up two years of their lives to go and serve a mission to spread the word and teach people about their beliefs. I can say with Confidence that the Church is true. And that Joseph Smith brought it back. And that President Monson is a true, living prophet on the earth today.”

You know who that quote is from?

Me.

Now I am aware that a few people who are following my blog will now groan and say “Ugh she’s religious.” and unfollow me right away. But you know what? I couldn’t care less. I could call doing that ‘ignorance’ and try to order you keep reading, but that’d be wrong. you read because you want to and if you don’t want to read, then that’s fine. But I’m talking about Religion today because it’s not only one of my passions or hobbies, it’s my life- style and if you don’t like it, go live your own and don’t waste it moaning about mine.

OK rant over… So one of my favourite things about my religion is how accepting we are. We try to keep it as a key principle that you can practice religion no matter where you are, who you are or what you are. Everyone has the right and privilege to pray and those rights do not stop at our religion. They carry on into different belief’s as well. We are all children of Heavenly Father and we will be treated as such.

We are also very forgiving. There is no such thing as “You did wrong now you’re going to Hell.” with us, it’s: “Yes, you did wrong, but we can work on it and fix it because we are all humans and we all make mistakes.” Which I think is much nicer. Yeah, some of us may be a little over the top, but we certainly have a talent for lovely-ness.

I love being in my religion and practising it every day. Yes, it’s unbelievably hard, but what’s life without a challenge? It’s a good and worthy challenge, so I accept it and try to try my best. I don’t just believe. I know and can fully testify of my knowledge of Jesus Christ and our Heavenly Father. I know that my faith will pay off and I will live with them some day. I know that this life is not just an accident because there are no accidents and that life will be a blink of an eye compared to eternity in the kingdom of God.

I am Elisabeth. And I am a Mormon, a member of the Church of Jesus Christ, of Latter Day Saints.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

