What game are *YOU* playing?

we still retain an attitude to the child that he is on probation, he is not really a human being, he is a candidate for humanity, and in just this way we have a whole system of preparation of the child for life, which always is preparation, and never actually gets there. – See more at: http://www.thejourneyofpurpose.com/alan-watts-videos/playing-the-game-of-life-alan-watts/#sthash.VlpSp3RF.dpuf
we still retain an attitude to the child that he is on probation, he is not really a human being, he is a candidate for humanity, and in just this way we have a whole system of preparation of the child for life, which always is preparation, and never actually gets there. – See more at: http://www.thejourneyofpurpose.com/alan-watts-videos/playing-the-game-of-life-alan-watts/#sthash.VlpSp3RF.dpuf
we still retain an attitude to the child that he is on probation, he is not really a human being, he is a candidate for humanity, and in just this way we have a whole system of preparation of the child for life, which always is preparation, and never actually gets there. – See more at: http://www.thejourneyofpurpose.com/alan-watts-videos/playing-the-game-of-life-alan-watts/#sthash.VlpSp3RF.dpuf
we still retain an attitude to the child that he is on probation, he is not really a human being, he is a candidate for humanity, and in just this way we have a whole system of preparation of the child for life, which always is preparation, and never actually gets there. – See more at: http://www.thejourneyofpurpose.com/alan-watts-videos/playing-the-game-of-life-alan-watts/#sthash.VlpSp3RF.dpuf

I would like to start this weeks blog with a few quotes from Alan Watts…

“You can feel yourself – not as a stranger in the world not as something here unprobational not as something that has arrived here by fluke, but you can begin to feel your own existence as absolutely fundamental.”

“We are playing a game! And we are playing by the following rules, we want to tell you what the rules are so you’ll know your way around and when you understand what rules we are playing by, when you are older you may be able to invent other ones. We wish to retain an attitude to the child that he is on probation, he is not really a human being, but he is a candidate for humanity.”

“Now I’m not saying let us drink today for tomorrow we die, and not make any plans. What I am saying is that making plans for the future is of use only to people who are capable of living completely in the present.”

I WISH beyond wishes that these speeches could be listened to by all. Then everyone would understand. Being an artist, and being someone who discovered this concept about a year ago, I have been desperately trying to help people understand that their life is NOT a letter on a sheet, it is NOT to trained up like some monkey. It is for Living. To eat, to breath. We can make life whatever we want it to be and I wish more people would understand this and stop playing this foolish game.

If you want to be a lawyer, BE a lawyer. If you want to be an astronaut, BE an astronaut, if you want to be a world travelling hippie, BE a world travelling hippie. My point is… If you want to do something, don’t sit around waiting for it to happen, get off your fat bum and do. It.

This is something I really need to improve upon, as I am the laziest, unmotivated person you’ll ever meet. I want so many things to happen with my life, yet all I do is sit and moan about how unhealthy I am and how unsuccessful I am, even though I am making no movement to become what I want to become.

It frustrates me so much. My theory is, I don’t want it badly enough. I don’t have- to quote Chandler from Friends- “the fear”. I am too comfortable with where I am right now to do anything, to drive myself forward and be a better me. BUT, I do understand the concept. I do understand that my life is my own and that if I want to make it happen, I have the power to do that. (reason #782 why I don’t want to go to university)

I love the idea of learning through experience, exploring the senses, adventuring. I do not like the idea of learning through the education system. I personally don’t like how the education system is sucking the joy out of  learning. It seems like Education leads to more education and more education leads to a job, a job leads to money, money leads to possession, possession leads to satisfaction and satisfaction leads to laziness. This is what general society is leading our young ones to believe. That all we learn for is to get a job and pretty hair. When in fact, the time-line should look something more like this:

Learning leads to choices, choices leads to experience, experience leads to a profession, a profession leads to purpose and purpose leads to peace.

Miserable, isn’t it? What society leads you to believe is the right way to be happy. When in fact, the right way to be happy, is YOUR way to be happy. Make sure you question that. Are you really happy? Are you fully content with where your life is? The answer, sadly, is probably no, right? Well then. Go and do something about it. It’s that simple. Not quick, not easy, but simple beyond belief.

we still retain an attitude to the child that he is on probation, he is not really a human being, he is a candidate for humanity, and in just this way we have a whole system of preparation of the child for life, which always is preparation, and never actually gets there. – See more at: http://www.thejourneyofpurpose.com/alan-watts-videos/playing-the-game-of-life-alan-watts/#sthash.VlpSp3RF.dpuf
we still retain an attitude to the child that he is on probation, he is not really a human being, he is a candidate for humanity, and in just this way we have a whole system of preparation of the child for life, which always is preparation, and never actually gets there. – See more at: http://www.thejourneyofpurpose.com/alan-watts-videos/playing-the-game-of-life-alan-watts/#sthash.VlpSp3RF.dpuf
Leave a Reply

